Last Rituals is the first Thora Gudmundsdottir novel from Yrsa Sigurdardottir – ‘Queen of Icelandic crime’. I first came across Yrsa Sigurdardottir from reading her novel ‘I Remember You’ a chilling, addictive novel.

Last Rituals is a crime novel with a difference, Harald, a rich German student is spending time in Iceland researching arcane black magic and witchcraft when very unexpectedly he is found murdered in a hideous sick and twisted manner. There is one main subject held by the police that does not seem to fit the bill.

Thora is hired by Harald’s family back in Germany to investigate and find the real murderer, ably assisted by Matthew a German investigator brought in by the family, they both find themselves quickly submerged into a hidden world of Icelandic and Northern European witchcraft and rituals.

I enjoyed this novel, but I really wanted it to do more for me, after the initial few chapters which really caught my attention, the rest of the book is a little slow. I think it could have done with much more suspense and less factual/ historic witchcraft info which gets bogged down in the storyline. 

I really wanted to give this book four stars but I’ve got to be honest and say even though I enjoyed it, I wanted more, so I give it three stars.

