I’m a big fan of Adam Nevill’s horror novels, so I eagerly awaited reading this new one ‘Under a Watchful Eye’.

This is psychological, claustrophobic horror at its best; Seb Logan the main character is a successful novelist living alone in a cliffside house in Devon, he’s had a chequered past which has left mental scars mainly due to an unstable flat mate called Ewan who in his past caused a lot of problems.

Seb starts to feel he is being watched and spots a strange figure from the beach staring at him, it them progresses to nearer and nearer sightings until a scary encounter on the cliffside makes him hurry back to his house to be confronted by Ewan looking even more dirtier, mentally deranged and unstable than usual.

We find out that Ewan has been practicing a cult out of body experience found in a long out of print book, whilst practicing he found his out of body experiences were increasingly frightening and attracting people from the other side, the so called Hinderers, hideously scary figures and much worse… Ewan has attracted these beings and brought them to Seb, now Seb finds himself in the middle of a complete nightmare, one which turns his whole life upside down and may take his very existence….

I absolutely loved the story, the first three-quarters of the book are incredibly chilling and eerie and literally made the hairs on the back of my neck stand up. The last quarter of the book slightly let it down, I feel the climax just lacked something special in my opinion. 

Overall a fantastic horror/ chiller and one I definitely recommend!

Product Details:

Hardcover, 400 pages

Published January 12th 2017 by Macmillan

Original TitleUnder a Watchful Eye

ISBN 150982040X (ISBN13: 9781509820405)

About Adam Nevill:

Adam L.G. Nevill was born in Birmingham, England, in 1969 and grew up in England and New Zealand. He is the author of the horror novels: ‘Banquet for the Damned’, ‘Apartment 16’, ‘The Ritual’, ‘Last Days’, ‘House of Small Shadows’, ‘No One Gets Out Alive’, ‘Lost Girl’, and ‘Under a Watchful Eye’. His first short story collection, ‘Some Will Not Sleep: Selected Horrors’, is published on Halloween,