I was in two minds about this book, I’m a devoted Harry Potter fan and was really looking forward to reading this special eighth in the series. First of all the negatives, this book is essentially a script of a play, so it doesn’t read like a book. It took me a while to get used to it and to grasp who’s saying what without continually reading each characters name by the side of the dialogue. Once you get into the swing of it, it’s okay


As a play and not a novel it does tend to jump around from scene to scene and forward in time quite quickly, two years go by in one Act! 

The negative stuff aside, it’s wonderful to be reunited with Harry, Hermione and Ron again, albeit their adult selves with teenage children of their own. Meet Albus Potter, the withdrawn son of Harry and Scorpius Malfoy the intent on no good son of Draco. Together we follow them as they make a discovery and United by Delphine Diggory (I won’t give any more spoilers) try to resurrect the past with disastrous consequences for everyone…..

A great story which really gets going after page 200 (so stick with it) I loved it and I’m happy to give it five stars but part of me wanted more. 

Why couldn’t JK Rowling have used this play and turned it into a fully-fledged novel? I think lots of people are being conned into buying this book thinking its a proper Harry Potter novel and it isn’t. Gripe over…

